AOL Radio Blog for Mobile

AOL Radio Blog

New Music Releases -- May 2013

4/22/2013 5:30PM by Sam Wilbur


May brings music fans new releases from today's favorites and even provides some nostalgia. As the weather heats up, fans can expect a new album from 98 Degrees. It's the boy band's first studio album since 2000, as the boy-band revival continues. They had already been touring with New Kids on the Block and Boys II Men. If their first single 'Microphone' is any indication, the band has definitely grown up in their more than decade-long hiatus. Current pop favorite, 20-year-old Demi Lovato is getting set to release her fourth studio album 'Demi.' The album includes the number one single 'Heart Attack' and a duet with Cher Lloyd. Lovato's first three albums all reached the top five of the Billboard 200.

It's not quite summer, but there's plenty of time for easy listening. Country stars Lady Antebellum will release their fourth studio album on May 7th. Their last album 'Own the Night' topped the Billboard charts in 2011. This album may feature a little different sound for the band, as their new single 'Downtown' includes a faster tempo and fun, flirtatious lyrics. Additionally, The Goo Goo Dolls will release their tenth studio album on the same day. 'Magnetic' is the band's first record since 2010 and contains the lead single and opening track 'Rebel Beat.'

Indie fans will get to hear the heavily-anticipated third album from Vampire Weekend on May 14th. 'Modern Vampires of the City' is supposed to include a darker, yet warmer sound than their previous two albums. New York City and America in general has been mentioned as an influence on the album. The band released a double single 'Diane Young/Step' which features impressive sound effects and a typical, up-beat sound. Also, keep an eye out for the second record from Fitz and The Tantrums. 'More Than Just a Dream' is their first album in three years and is the opening line in the album's title song and lead single 'Out of My League.' The album was produced by Tony Hoffer who has worked with M83, Depeche Mode, and Phoenix, among others.

Take a look below at the full list of new releases for May 2013, which includes many more of your favorites.

May 7

AM & Shawn Lee, 'La Musique Numerique'

Ann Pragg, 'Bitter Fruit'

Banquets, 'Banquets'

Co La, 'Moody Coup'

Courtney Jaye, 'Love And Forgiveness'

Deerhunter, 'Monomania'

Devour The Day, 'Time & Pressure'

D.O.T., 'Diary'

Eksi Ekso, 'Archfiend'

Fitz & the Tantrums, 'More Than Just A Dream'

Goo Goo Dolls, 'Magnetic'

Jim Guthrie, 'Takes Time'

Joe Satriana, 'Unstoppable Momentum'

Lady Antebellum, 'Golden'

Little Boots, 'Nocturnes'

Michael Feuerstack, 'Tambourine Death Bed'

Mikak Cronin, 'MCII'

Mother Falcon, 'You Knew'

Mylets, 'Retcon'

Natalie Maines, 'Mother'

Northcote, 'Northcote'

Patty Griffin, 'American Kid'

Pentimento, 'Pentimento'

Phaseone, 'If I Tell U'

Pistol Annies, 'Annie Up'

Primal Scream, 'More Light'

Retox, YPLL

Rod Stewart, 'Time'

Savages, 'Silence Yourself'

She & Him, 'Volume 3'

Still Corners, 'Strange Pleasures'

The-Dream, 'Fourplay'

The Uncluded, 'Hokey Fright'

Vampire Weekend, 'Modern Vampires Of The City'

We Are Loud Whispers, 'Suchness'

98 Degrees, '2.0'

May 14

Adult., 'The Way Things Fall'

Agnetha Faitsko, 'A'

Bad Rabbits, 'American Love LP'

Beams, 'Just Rivers'

Bibio, 'Silver Wilkinson'

Candace Bellamy, 'In My Lane'

Dungeonesse, 'Dungeonesse'

Eve, 'Lip Lock'

George Strait, 'Love Is Everything'

Gold & Youth, 'Beyond Wilderness'

John Grant, 'Pale Green Ghosts'

Kisses, 'Kids in L.A.'

Mark Kozelek and Jimmy LaValle, 'Perils From the Sea'

Mindness Self Indulgence, 'How I Learned Not To Give a Sh*t and Love Mindless Self Indulgence

Mr. Ms., 'Second Hand Rapture'

pacificUV, 'After The Dream You Are Awake'

Pure X, 'Crawling Up The Stairs'

Saltland, 'I Thought It Was Us but it Was All of Us

Small Black, 'Limits Of Desire'

Snowden, 'No One In Control'

Spin Doctors, 'If The River Was Whiskey'

The Abramson Singers, 'Late Riser'

The Features, 'The Features'

The Phoenix Foundation, 'Fandango'

The Wonder Years, 'The Greatest Generation'

This Century, 'Biography Of Heartbreak'

Var, 'No One Dances Quite Like My Brothers'

Wampire, 'Curiosity'

May 21

30 Seconds To Mars, 'Love Lust Faith & Dreams'

Baptist Generals, 'Jackleg Devotional To The Heart'

Club 8, 'Above The City'

Daft Punk, 'Random Access Memories'

Dead Gaze, 'Dead Gaze'

French Montana, 'Excise My French'

Have Mercy, 'The Earth Pushed Back'

Jay Sean, 'Neon'

Linda Draper, 'Edgewise'

LVMRKS, 'Pale Fairytale'

Radiation City, 'Animals In The Median'

Saturday Looks Good To Me, 'One Kiss Ends It All'

Scout Nibett, 'It's Up To Emma'

Ten Kens, 'Namesake'

Texas, 'The Conversation'

The Front Brothers, 'Talon Of The Hawk'

The National, 'Trouble Will Find Me'

May 28

Alice In Chains, 'The Devil Put Dinosaurs Here'

Alex Bleeker & The Freaks, 'How Far Away'

Anvil, 'Hope In Hell'

Baths, 'Obsidian'

Blue-Eyed Son, 'Shadows On The Sun'

Brazos, 'Saltwater'

CocoRosie, 'Tales Of A Grass Widow'

Eisley, 'Currents'

Free Time, 'Free TIme'

Imaginary Cities, 'Fall of Romance'

John Fogerty, 'Wrote a Song for Everyone'

Kylesa, 'Ultraviolet'

Laura Marling, 'Once I was an Eagle'

Man Overboard, 'Heart Attack'

Mount Kimbie, 'Cold Spring Fault Less Youth'

Pastels, 'Slow Summits'

The Polyphonic Spree, 'Yes, It's True'

The Stranglers, 'Giants'

The-Dream, 'IV Play'

Tricky, 'False Idols'

When Saints Go Machine, 'Infinity Pool'

Beacon, 'The Ways We Seperate'

Guided By Voices, 'English Little League'

View the full version of AOL Radio Blog